Uyo elders, youths vow to produce next senator in 2019

. Etuk, while addressing Uyo elders & youths yesterday 





Elders and youth of Uyo federal constituency have resolved to ensure that a member of the constituency emerge as the next senator for Uyo Senatorial District in 2019.

The agreement was reached, yesterday, during a breakfast meeting of Atai Uyo, the zone comprising Ibesikpo Asutan, Nsit Atai, Uruan and Uyo local government areas, convened by Mr Kufre Etuk, a former member who represented Uruan in the Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly.

At the meeting which took place at his Ewet Housing Estate residence, Mr Etuk urged the people of the constituency to be resolute and focused on their bid to produce the successor of Bassey Albert Akpan, the current Senator representing Uyo at the Senate.

Etuk said in the interest of justice, fair play and equity, someone from Uyo federal constituency should be allowed to produce Albert’s successor.

Although the meeting, according to Etuk, was not called for the purpose of declaring his intention to run for the Senate in 2019, he said it was necessary to bring into the consciousness of the people of Atai Uyo that the position of Senate for 2019 has reverted to Uyo federal constituency.

He said the people of Atai Uyo should be aware that they must arise and work collectively towards the development of the federal constituency and attracting all political positions that should accrue to it.

Also speaking, a former member of the House of Representatives, Emaeyak Ukpong, who pleaded with the Uyo elders and youths to close ranks, equally enjoined them to work round the clock by ensuring that Atai Uyo presents credible and generally acceptable candidate for the next senatorial election.

Attendance at the meeting cut across political parties.
Some of those who attended the meeting are, Colonel Edet Ekoi Rtd., former House of Assembly member, Edwin Joseph, former Commissioner for Education Dr. Donatus Okon, federal Board members, Perry Ntuk, and Gabriel Akpan.

Others are immediate past executive chairmen of Uyo and Ibesikpo Asutan, Mr. Ekerette Ekpenyong and Bishop Ekpe James; Arc. Essien Nkanga, Obong S.A Essoh, Obong Nyong Udo, Hon. Inyang Essien, Alhaji Abdulsalami Bassey, Hon. Vincent Udoh, Akparawa Ekpoimo Okono, Hon Ubong Ime, Hon. Akpan Iba, Hon. Sunny Udokang, among others.

Some of the youth leaders from the four local government who attended the meeting include, George Okon Ibia, Owoedimo George, Esitima Udosen, Ewongo Frank, Ekpo James Udo, Anthony Bassey, Joe Pastor, Joseph Edet, Emmanuel Sam, among others.

Photos of the meeting

Donatus Okon

Emmanuel Sam

Click here to follow Propeller Newspapers on Facebook

Follow on Twitter @PropellerNG