Akwa Ibom State capital, Uyo, three other Nigerian cities to vie for AFRIMA

The capital of Akwa Ibom State, Uyo is among the four cities targeted as potential hosts for the All Africa Music (AFRIMA) continental awards ceremony. Other cities nominated are: Calabar (Cross River State), Lagos (Lagos State) and  Port Harcourt (Rivers State).  According to the organisers, the AU’s interest emanated from the visions of these four states in promoting and preserving Africa’s rich culture while also inspiring African youths. The event which is the third edition of the show  holds in November.

The Commissioner for Social Affairs, African Union Commission, Dr Mustapha Sidiki Kaloko said, “The main purpose of the Host City partnership is to showcase the tourism and economic potential of one of the great cities in Africa and promote its strengths to a global audience which in turn adds to the GDP of the state and the continent at large.”

While urging the considered cities to passionately vie for hosting privileges, the AUC official pointed out the immense advantages for the host city which include ‘long term investment and job creation; adoption of new benchmarks for city development; increased civic pride and community empowerment; increased tourism and publicity’.

Also, AFRIMA Director of Sponsorship/Communication, Ms. Matlou Tsotetsi, explained that these four states are capable of creating global brand equity for Africa.

She said; “The host city will be one that is willing to create value and deep brand equity not only for Nigerians but Africans. It must have the most motivation to host AFRIMA in line with its values; have the strongest vision in tourism, culture and entertainment; have the most adequate facilities, surrounding infrastructure, security and tourist attraction to host the event and should have hosted successful events in the past that attracted both national and or global audiences.”

AFRIMA in partnership with the AUC opened submission of entries for this year’s edition of the continental awards on Monday, May 30, 2016. Works to be submitted must be produced in the year under review; May 20, 2015 to July 30, 2016.

Leave a Reply